Too Faced La Creme Lipsticks Review

13 Jun

Roses are red, violets are blue. Sorry for not writing recently; I had a lot of work due!

I’ve been on a suicide mission lately, drowing in my medical school applications. No time for Game of Thrones or Netflix. No time for anything at all. There are moments when I question my sanity, and whether or not I’m a closet masochist who relishes in the feeling of burnout.

Okay, enough introspection. The dark side is off-limits.

In a previous post, I’ve mentioned purchasing five (5) Too Faced La Creme Lipsticks at a bargain. Now, I’ve returned to give my review and swatches.

img_6481

My first impression centered around the cute, elegant designs on the packaging. The box is simply eye-candy that reminds me of sweet, delicate macarons in Paris. When I first picked them up, I couldn’t put them down because the box was just so velvety and smooth.

img_6493

Each lipstick is encased in a gold tube made of tin. Not sure if Too Faced was trying to be minimalistic or cheap. But the amount of material that goes into the tube packaging is very little. Hence, the thin container.

All five colors are interesting, each fit for different moods and occasions. The formula is, indeed, extremely creamy. It’s as if you had reached for the stick of butter in your fridge and rubbed it all over your lips. Yet, these lipsticks are even creamier than butter. Upon application, I also noticed a lemony scent. Not overwhelming, just subtle.

img_6744

Swatches of all the lipsticks under natural light

 

1. Razzle Dazzle Rose

img_6727
This is a flirty pink that’s great for a warm, sunny day outdoors in your favorite maxi dress and frolicking on the beaches in Key West. The mood certainly lightens up with this color. However, it might be too light for my skin tone. I would recommend this shade for medium or darker skin tones.

img_6690

Razzle Dazzle Rose

 

2. Coral Fire

img_6728
This shade paints the picture of a passionate tango into the sunset. Leaning towards the orange side, this color is great for the regular, productive day for running errands or heading to work. Great for all types of skin tones.

img_6694

Coral Fire

 

3. Bon bon

img_6729
This is my favorite color of the bunch. It’s a great shade between pink and red that is suitable for creating an awesome understated look. When I first saw this shade, it took some self control on my part. Otherwise, I would’ve eaten it.

img_6710

Bon Bon

 

4. JellyBean

img_6730

A great hue of pink that stirs up the daily controversy, this color is definitely a go-to on the makeup dresser. Though, I have to admit that this one didn’t spread as evenly as the others.

img_6715

JellyBean

 

5. Divine Wineimg_6731

Whoever is coming up with these names for the lipsticks deserves a shiny award because the phrases are consistently true to their shades. Divine wine takes you back to the vineyard in the 1800s where your lips are so stained by the grapes that the handsome guy on the donkey riding in from town stares at your irresistability with loving, romantic eyes. I mean, this shade is kick-ass. Oomph!

img_6720

Divine Wine

Overally, I’d rate these lipsticks

For $11 per tube (Too Faced sale), these lipsticks are quite a bargain and do deliver quality results. They are great additions to my dresser and fit for everyday use. Transfer is very minimal and they seem to stay on for several hours before I have to reapply. Would I recommend? Yes, grab these when you have a chance.

Follow me on Instagram @Alleyhanai

10 Responses to “Too Faced La Creme Lipsticks Review”

  1. amyelise1 June 13, 2016 at 4:28 PM #

    These look gorgeous 😍

    • Alice June 13, 2016 at 4:34 PM #

      I had so much fun putting them on!

  2. itsheyjune June 13, 2016 at 11:27 PM #

    I think my favourites are coral fire and divine wine, they look amazing on you!

  3. Molly June 13, 2016 at 11:34 PM #

    All these colors are so pretty on you!

    http://www.molly-alamode.com

    • Alice June 14, 2016 at 12:01 AM #

      Thanks! I can’t wait to use them up

  4. fadedrouge June 24, 2016 at 9:25 PM #

    Bon bon and Divine wine are gorgeous!

    • Alice June 24, 2016 at 9:29 PM #

      Thanks! Yes, they’re pretty

  5. Mrs Strawberry Blonde June 27, 2016 at 6:52 AM #

    Great post. I love the swatches. Coral Fire and Bon Bon look amazing.

    • Alice June 27, 2016 at 10:47 AM #

      Thank you! These lipsticks are fire 🔥

Leave a comment